You’re my inspiration!

Whenever I was younger, I was asked questions in school that made me think about those I looked up to. Who is your inspiration? Who would be your heroine if you wrote a storybook? Who do you want to be like? 

During my younger days, I always felt like I had to pick the most famous people to look up to or the biggest characters in the books because that’s what we are taught to do. Aspirational singers look up to Beyoncé, hopeful footballers want to be best friends with Messi and if you’re a good cook, well you’re looking up to the likes of Ramsay and Pierre-White. Why though? Yes they are all great people who have done immensely well within their careers and seem happy in their day to day lives. But what do we know about these people? Are we only interested in those who have it made? Is it due to their wealth, their fame and the fact that their names are known to most households across the world? 

Over the last year or so, I feel I have started to understand the word ‘inspiration’ a little better. I believe that experiences and milestones in your life make you look to others closed to you, people you actually know for inspiration. My inspiration, you may ask? My sister. 

She’s younger than me by 6 years which means she has less experience than me in aspects such as the workplace, financial issues, relationships however that means nothing to me. She has been through a lot and has come out fighting. She has shown me how positivity and hard work can get you to where you want to be and that there are no shortcuts in life. She has taught me that if you want something, you work at it whether it means you have to suffer for it or not. She has also shown me that you need to be your true self for your own sake and that nobody else s opinion should matter. 

If I’m going through a tough time or even having a shitty day. I don’t look up to Beyoncé and wish I was her. I think about my beautiful little sister and think.. ‘I need to be more like her’. 

I think we need to look to those closer to us to draw our strength from. Inspiration means different things to different people however I think we can all learn most from our loved ones. 

Who inspires you and why? I’d love to read some! 

All scribbled out x

Leave a Reply

